Michigan Probate Procedure
UPDATED: January 5, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident law decisions. Finding trusted and reliable legal advice should be easy. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Michigan law offers simplified probate procedures for estates of certain amounts and designation. A simplified probate procedure signs property over to the surviving spouse or heirs without much hassle. Estates worth less than $15,000 are eligible for simple probate in Michigan.
In order to undergo a simple estate procedure in Michigan probate court, you must show evidence that funeral expenses have been paid and that the estate totals less than $15,000 in value. If there are unsatisfied debts pending for the estate, you must pay them within 60 days of receipt of estate funds. In order to file for a simple estate in Michigan, you must file a Petition and Order for Assignment, plus a $25 filing fee and any applicable inventory fees.
For more information, check out our article on the Basics of Michigan Probate
If you are facing a complex probate situation, consult an experienced Michigan probate lawyer today.